Surety Bonds Nationwide

Car Dealer License California

Car Dealer License California

Dealer Bond California

How To Get a Dealers License in CA 

If you’ve ever wondered how to get a dealer’s license in CA, you’ve come to the right place. This article will explain how to obtain a car dealer bond in California, and all the necessary steps you’ll have to go through to get a California dealer license. In order to obtain a license for selling vehicles in the state of California, it is first necessary to get a surety bond, which is sometimes called a car dealer bond, a motor vehicle dealer bond, or a DMV bond.

The important thing to remember about this bond is that it it does not provide any protection whatsoever to the person starting up the car dealership – instead, it provides a level of protection to the people who patronize the dealership. Without this surety bond, you cannot apply for a dealership license within the state. The amount of this bond will be $50,000 for auto dealerships, and $10,000 for motorcycle dealerships, although that is not the premium that the dealer would have to pay.

[Need to learn how to get a dealers license in CA, or simply need a used car dealer bond California, we can help.  Bonding experts since 1984! ]used car dealer bond california

The need to be properly bonded 

So why exactly must you be bonded as a car dealer in California? The simple answer is that it is a flat-out requirement by the California Department of Motor Vehicles, and this requirement is not subject to any kind of negotiation. These bonds must be posted by dealerships prior to beginning operations within state borders, because the DMV is trying to protect unwary buyers against any kind of fraud which might be perpetrated on them by dealers who are less than honest.

When this bond has been posted by a car dealer, the dealer who is in effect the principal party in the surety bond contract, guarantees to the obligee, which is the state of California DMV, that he/she will operate in full compliance with all statues listed in Section 11711, also known as the Vehicle Code. In the event that the principal fails to live up to all the regulations listed in the Vehicle Code, a claim may be made against the bond, and it would oblige the third party, the surety company which sold the bond to the principal, to pay all damages associated with the failure to comply.

Assuming the claim was found to be valid, the surety company would pay the amount of the claim made, and then pursue the principal to recover the full amount of the claim which it had paid out. The fact that the dealer is ultimately held liable for any claim made by a disgruntled customer or the California DMV, is enough to ensure that the dealer will generally comply with all statutes listed in the Vehicle Code.

Becoming a car dealer in California 

Once you’ve purchased your bond, you can then follow up with all the steps necessary to open up a dealership in the state. The first step is to obtain the following forms, fill them out, and submit them:

  • OL902 – Property use verification for vehicle dealer’s license
  • OL21A – Original application for occupational license
  • OL12 – Application for Original Occupational License
  • OL53 – Authorization to release financial information
  • OL248A – New Dealer application checklist
  • OL25 – Surety – Bond of dealer
  • OL124 – Certificate of proposed dealer license california

After you’ve submitted all these forms for approval, it will be necessary to pay several fees which are associated with the applications process. The first of these fees is a $175 non-refundable application fee, then you’ll have to pay a $1 Family Support fee, a $100 auto broker fee, a $300 new motor vehicle board fee, $70 per dealer plate, and $70 per branch location of your business.

Once you’ve received your bond and your auto dealer license, they will be set to expire at the same time, and that means that every year the surety bond must be purchased again, so that it remains in sync with your dealer’s license. You should be aware that the surety company will always reserve the right to terminate the bond, and can do so at its option, provided that it gives the principal 30 days’ notice prior to suspension.

How to get a dealers license in CA

Difficulty of obtaining a bond and license how to get a dealers license in ca

California has standards which are somewhat more stringent than many other states, with regard to eligibility for bonds and licenses in the auto dealership field. If you’ve had past bankruptcies or a poor credit history in general, you may have difficulty obtaining both a bond and a license, although some surety companies offer a ‘bad credit surety bond program‘ for such individuals.

Even with poor credit, you may qualify for such a program, but you can expect to pay a higher premium on your bond than others would be required to pay. Whereas a good credit businessman might only pay between 1% and 3% of the bond amount for a premium, i.e. between $500 and $1500, an individual with poor credit might have to pay anywhere between 5% and 15% as a premium.

Used Car Dealer Bond California

Whether you have good credit history or bad though, the surety company you should call first is Surety by NFP, which is the biggest and most affordable surety in the country, and which is also authorized to issue bonds in all 50 states. Call NFP as your first step toward obtaining a new or used car dealer bond California, and being licensed to sell vehicles in the state.

motor vehicle bond california

Apply in Minutes!

Surety Bond Application Button

Contact Info

Toll Free: (800) 863-3210

Fax: 623-486-3096


Bonds by State